Skip to main content


alt text

How many degrees are there in 32nd Degree Scottish Rite Freemasonry™?

32nd Degree Scottish Rite Freemasonry™ offers 29 degrees -- the 4th degree through the 32nd degree, and an additional honorary 33rd degree.

The Scottish Rite degree system is a way for a Mason to journey through and build upon the ethical teachings and philosophy offered in the Craft lodge (also known as Blue Lodge), which consists of the first three degrees of Freemasonry: Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft, and Master Mason.

Scottish Rite degrees explore one or more of the organization's six Core Values -- Reverence for God, Integrity, Devotion to Country, Justice, Tolerance, and Service to Humanity.

The Scottish Rite Degree Bodies
The 29 Scottish Rite degrees are organized into four bodies. Each body is an independent organization that governs its corresponding set of degrees. In the Northern Masonic Jurisdiction, the bodies are:

Lodge of Perfection (4th - 14th)

Council of Princes of Jerusalem (15th - 16th)

Chapter of Rose Croix (17th - 18th)

Consistory (19th - 32nd)

The 33rd Degree
The 33rd degree of Sovereign Grand Inspector General is an honorary degree conferred only by the Supreme Council, the governing body of Scottish Rite Freemasonry. A Scottish Rite Freemason may attain the 33rd degree, which is an honor bestowed for outstanding service to the Brotherhood. This honorary degree is granted in recognition for individual accomplishments in private life, business, government, and the arts, as well as leadership and service within the fraternity.

Please sign in to access this information

This content is only available to members. Existing members can sign in to access it using the button below.

Sign in and proceed