Skip to main content


Cap, Apron, and Membership Certificate

What is 32nd Degree Freemasonry™?

The Scottish Rite degrees (from the 4th degree to the 32nd degree) supplement and amplify the philosophical teachings of the first three degrees conferred in the Symbolic Lodge. 32nd Degree Scottish Rite Freemasonry™ is sometimes called the "University of Freemasonry" because it uses extensive allegory and dramatic presentation to explore the philosophy, history, ethics, and fundamental truths that guide Freemasons' lives.

To attain the 32°, one must first be a Master Mason in good standing. The Master Mason can then apply to the Scottish Rite in his appropriate jurisdiction. Once his application is approved, he must witness five Scottish Rite degrees. This includes the 4° upon initiation, three additional degrees of the member’s choice, and the 32°.

32nd Degree Freemasonry™, also known as Scottish Rite Freemasonry, is a fraternity of Brothers committed to journeying deeper into the highest principles, teachings, and ideals of the Masonic Craft. Scottish Rite Masons aspire to be guided by six Core Values – Reverence for God, Integrity, Devotion to Country, Justice, Tolerance, and Service to Humanity.

Checklist to Becoming a Scottish Rite Freemason

Your Free Checklist to Becoming a 32° Mason

Learn the next steps to continuing your Masonic journey through the Scottish Rite.

Please sign in to access this information

This content is only available to members. Existing members can sign in to access it using the button below.

Sign in and proceed