Skip to main content


alt text

What is required for membership in 32nd Degree Freemasonry™?

The requirements for becoming a member of 32nd Degree Scottish Rite Freemasonry™, Northern Masonic Jurisdiction are as follows:

  • You must be a Master Mason in good standing in a Masonic lodge. If you are not yet a Freemason, visit to learn more and take the first step.
  • You must profess belief in a Supreme Being.
  • You must be a Master Mason in one of the 15 Northern Masonic Jurisdiction states and petition your local Valley for membership. The states are Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Wisconsin.
  • You must apply through your local Valley.
  • Once you are approved as a degree candidate, you must attend a 4th degree date or Reunion to be initiated as a Scottish Rite Mason. You may also take the 4th degree and join the Scottish Rite through virtual joining opportunities that are offered.
  • To officially become a 32nd Degree Scottish Rite Freemason™, you must receive the 4th degree along with three additional degrees in any order. You are then eligible to receive the esteemed 32nd degree. While not required, most men go on to view all 29 Scottish Rite degrees in the future.
  • Men of any ethnic, religious, or economic background are eligible to become Scottish Rite Freemasons. Master Masons who are members of other appendant bodies of Freemasonry, such as Shriners International or the York Rite, are eligible to become Scottish Rite Masons so long as they meet the above requirements.

If you meet the above criteria and are interested in becoming a 32nd Degree Scottish Rite Freemason™, learn more about joining us and submit a member application.

Please sign in to access this information

This content is only available to members. Existing members can sign in to access it using the button below.

Sign in and proceed