Skip to main content


Degrees Landing Hero


10° - Master Elect

Scottish Rite, NMJ 10th Degree: Master Elect poster


The 10th degree teaches tolerance of others through the story of King Solomon. King Solomon learns of his sentence from which there is no appeal. This degree teaches us that all people should have freedom of political and spiritual ideology, and it is our duty to respect this diversity of opinion.


The violator of his obligations to God will not go unpunished.


Reverence for God & Justice


The Lodge of Perfection Degrees

The Lodge of Perfection is where a Scottish Rite Mason’s journey begins. This body confers the 4th through the 14th degrees. These degrees investigate and contemplate spirituality, and also amplify the Hiramic Legend and lessons from the Biblical era.

The Lodge of Perfection degrees are often referred to as “ineffable” degrees because they focus on the ineffable, or unutterable, name of God. Members will also see many references back to the three symbolic degrees of the Blue Lodge. The degrees in this first body are meant to amplify the core Masonic teachings and apply them to practical, everyday situations.

The name of the Lodge of Perfection refers to the belief of Scottish Rite Masons that while they know they are not perfect, there is a path to perfection. One of the key moral teachings in this body is that men must persevere and overcome difficulties in their progress toward perfection.

two masons playing chess
Become a 32° Freemason