Skip to main content



6° - Master of the Brazen Serpent

Scottish Rite, NMJ 6th Degree: Master of the Brazen Serpent poster


The 6th degree instructs us to be peacemakers. When the children of Israel encounter a rough and dangerous journey through the desert, they rebel against Moses and God. From this degree, we learn to guide ourselves and our thoughts towards charity, self-control, and success.


The answer to the spiritual problems of mankind is faith in ourselves and in God.


Reverence for God


The Lodge of Perfection Degrees

The Lodge of Perfection is where a Scottish Rite Mason’s journey begins. This body confers the 4th through the 14th degrees. These degrees investigate and contemplate spirituality, and also amplify the Hiramic Legend and lessons from the Biblical era.

The Lodge of Perfection degrees are often referred to as “ineffable” degrees because they focus on the ineffable, or unutterable, name of God. Members will also see many references back to the three symbolic degrees of the Blue Lodge. The degrees in this first body are meant to amplify the core Masonic teachings and apply them to practical, everyday situations.

The name of the Lodge of Perfection refers to the belief of Scottish Rite Masons that while they know they are not perfect, there is a path to perfection. One of the key moral teachings in this body is that men must persevere and overcome difficulties in their progress toward perfection.

What is the Lodge of Perfection?

two masons playing chess
Become a 32° Freemason

Please sign in to access this information

This content is only available to members. Existing members can sign in to access it using the button below.

Sign in and proceed