4° - 14° Degree Summaries

The Lodge of Perfection has the responsibility to confer the 4°-14°. These degrees investigate and contemplate spirituality, and also amplify the Hiramic Legend and lessons from the biblical era.

4th Degree – Builder

A Master Mason seeks divine guidance. Philosophy: Brothers grow together in Scottish Rite. Core Values: Reverence for God, Integrity, & Service

5th Degree – Perfect Master

Two sons of Aaron, corrupted by greed and ambition, allow the sacred flame to extinguish. Philosophy: Trustworthiness is more valuable than life and is the basis for Masonic honor. Core Values: Reverence for God, Justice & Integrity.

6th Degree - Master of the Brazen Serpent

When the children of Israel encounter a rough and dangerous journey through the desert, they rebel against Moses and God. Philosophy: The answer to the spiritual problems of mankind is faith in ourselves and in God. Core Values: Reverence for God.

7th Degree - Provost and Judge

A dispute among the workmen where honesty and justice prevail. Philosophy: We should render justice to all mankind. Core Values: Justice & Integrity.

8th Degree - Intendent of the Building

Based on the Old Testament story of King David and his assignment to his son, the future King Solomon. Philosophy: The degree reminds us that each honor we receive requires attention to a particular duty. Core Values: Service, Integrity, & Reverence for God.

9th Degree - Master of the Temple

The Temple of King Solomon is dedicated by priests of many religions. Philosophy: We should not be too zealous in executing justice. Core Values: Reverence for God & Service.

10th Degree - Master Elect

King Solomon learns of his sentence from which there is no appeal. Philosophy: The violator of his obligations to God will not go unpunished. Core Values: Reverence for God & Justice.

11th Degree - Sublime Master Elected

King Solomon's tax collector violates the public trust. Philosophy: When confronted by corrupt, tyrannical, or illegal behavior on the part of a person in authority, the nation should remain loyal and courageous. Core Values: Integrity.

12th Degree - Master of Mercy

Joseph forgives his brothers for selling him into slavery. Philosophy: We are taught forgiveness, compassion, and brotherly love. Core Values: Justice & Integrity.

13th Degree - Master of the Ninth Arch

The degree dramatizes the dangers encountered as men search for the lost word. Philosophy: We are reminded that difficulties and dangers should not deter us from pursuing moral perfection. Core Values: Reverence for God.

14th Degree - Grand Elect Mason

The essence of Symbolic Masonry is compiled in lessons of the Lodge of Perfection. Philosophy: Members are encouraged to worship God at the altar of their choice. Core Values: Reverence for God.